Alice in the Country of Hearts

Alice in the Country of Hearts

The Clockmaker's Story

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:

Why did you choose to stay? Because you felt sorry for me?
In the Country of Hearts, Alice has started developing feelings for the angsty Clockmaker. She can see past Julius's doom and gloom to the gentle soul inside. When the path back home starts opening at last, Alice wonders if she'll be able to leave Julius when the time comes. Will she give up her world for a man who can barely voice his feelings?
Love is timeless, but even in Wonderland the clock is always ticking.

Publisher: [Los Angeles] : Seven Seas Entertainment, 2013.
ISBN: 9781937867645
Characteristics: 1 v. (unpaged) :,chiefly ill. (some col.) ;,21 cm
Additional Contributors: Fujimaru, Mamenosuke
Alternative Title: Clockmaker's story


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
forbesrachel Aug 21, 2014

The Alice in the Country of... series are adaptions based on the otome (maiden) games of the same name. Each installment places the lead character Alice amongst a reverse-harem where her decisions change so that she becomes romantically involved with a different character for that story. Loosely based on Alice in Wonderland, the original six volume set, Alice in the Country of Hearts, explains her arrival and introduces us to the entire cast. Unlike some of the others titles, the Clockmaker's Story is a standalone volume. It provides a brief introduction to the events of the original, but refrains from going into detail, rather starting at the point where both Julius and Alice have a fluttering in their hearts. Julius is the cool, megane (glasses) type, and a bit of a tsundere (a harsh character that becomes warm and caring). He is dependable, dedicated, and the most "normal" one according to Alice. These are the things that attract her to him. Not only does this Wonderland work wonky, but it is violent in a semi-serious, semi-comedic way too. Every volume of this series has this exciting dual nature alongside its heart-pounding romance elements, especially as it reveals new elements of this world. Aside from these moments that build on the setting, the story is all about developing and experiencing relationships. Screentones play a huge part in creating the right atmosphere for such diverse aspects, easily shifting between softer times, to more serious parts. Even for a single volume, the pace remains consistently natural, and every title from this series has the same quality writing. A reader's enjoyment of any one volume depends entirely on their own character preferences.

crystal_dark Apr 15, 2014

This story was really interesting and provided an opportunity to get to know the Clockmaker Julius Monrey a bit better.....

This volume also contains a couple of chapters about the series "Crimson Empire" at the end that were pretty interesting. (Crimson Empire: Tactics / Crimson Empire: Stay Here) .....

The Special Preview of "Kanokon" was also really cute and I definitely plan to read that series in the future.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
Nov 12, 2014

white_cobra_106 thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top